Doesn’t matter what you’ve heard, Impossible is not a word, It’s just a reason for people not to try…

[Everybody falls sometimes
Gotta find the strength to rise
From the ashes and make a new beginning
Anyone can feel the ache
You think it’s more than you can take
But you are stronger, stronger than you know
Don’t you give up now
The sun will soon be shining
You gotta face the clouds
To find the silver lining

I’ve seen dreams that move the mountains
Hope that doesn’t ever end
Even when the sky is falling
And I’ve seen miracles just happen
Silent prayers get answered
Broken hearts become brand new
That’s what faith can do

It doesn’t matter what you’ve heard
Impossible is not a word
It’s just a reason for someone not to try
Everybody’s scared to death
When they decide to take that step
Out on the water
It’ll be alright
Life is so much more
Than just what your eyes are seeing
You will find your way
If you keep believing

I’ve seen dreams that move the mountains
Hope that doesn’t ever end
Even when the sky is falling
And I’ve seen miracles just happen
Silent prayers get answered
Broken hearts become brand new
That’s what faith can do

Overcome the odds
You do have a chance
(That’s what faith can do)
When the world says you can’t
It’ll tell you that you can!

I’ve seen dreams that move the mountains
Hope that doesn’t ever end
Even when the sky is falling
And I’ve seen miracles just happen
Silent prayers get answered
Broken hearts become brand new
That’s what faith can do
Even if you fall sometimes
You will have the strength to rise]

Who has life figured out?  Who has faith figured out?  I don’t think anyone but Jesus had that one down…

In the recent couple of months, I have spent a lot of time convincing myself that I am a failure.  Now, before you navigate away from this page assuming that I am going off on a tirade of whine/rant, please follow through.  It is my hope that this post will be an encouragement to any who read it.

I think that it is fair to say– I fell.  I pretty much hit rock bottom.  Some of you reading may disagree, but what happens on my face and what is in my heart are often at war with each other.

Two or three weeks ago, I had just reached my wits end.  I was at the bottom of my rope, and there was a 500 foot ravine below me, with nothing left but more falling to do.  I drove out to Parkville, sat by the Missouri River, and just poured out my heart to God.  It wasn’t pretty, but it happened.  I Habakkuk-ed.  I pretty much laid into God about how upset I was with the way things were… One of the most valuable relationships in my life was crumbling before my eyes, school was rough, work was stretching me to a breaking point, I felt like I had failed in ministry… I was not in a good place.

Looking into my heart today, I can’t say that the place I am is where I need to be, but I’m getting there.

The awesome thing about how God works… Is that when we become the most broken, is when we will hear Him speak louder than we could’ve ever imagined.

This song came on the radio as one of K-Love’s new songs.  I know it sounds cheesy, but God knows how He wired me… I connect with music.  He spoke to me volumes with this song.  This broke me down to a point where I realized that the problem wasn’t anything God was doing, the problem lied in what I was not doing.  I was not trusting… I didn’t have the faith in Him that He deserved.  My God was just like me… In fact, it WAS me.  That wasn’t okay.

Jacqui Brown’s chain-status towards the beginning of the month made me think.  It made me realize that there was a lot that I needed to be thankful for.  There was a whole lot more going right in my life, but I was being beaten and bruised by the things that were going wrong.  Instead of just handing them to God and trusting that He would work them out in His time, I immediately went to work trying to fix them myself.

Today, on Tuesday, November 17th, 2009… I am trying my best to change what I don’t like.  I am trying my best to renew my faith.  I am trying my hardest to let God work his hardest on my heart.

Why did I feel like I needed to write this?

Because I know everyone ends up here sometimes… We look around, get scared of what’s going on around us, and forget that it’s important to just look past those and find the nearest mountaintop to be near God and let the valley’s flood all they want.  As long as we’re resting in the arms of Our Father, we won’t drown.

If you think you can’t make it to the top of a mountain…

“It doesn’t matter what you’ve heard
Impossible is not a word
It’s just a reason for someone not to try…”

“You think it’s more than you can take
But you are stronger, stronger than you know
Don’t you give up now
The sun will soon be shining
You gotta face the clouds
To find the silver lining…”

I’m ready for the sun to come out… But right now I’m facing my clouds.  I hope you are encouraged.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

